3/09: Discover Nikkei presents online event about Eisa Okinawan Drumming, Mar. 9, 3:00PM, PST

Discover Nikkei, a project of Japanese American National Museum, presents online conversation about eisa Okinawan drumming on Saturday, March 9, 2024, 3:00 pm, PST.

Virtual event “Yeisaa nu Chimu-Don-Don: Exploring Cultural Identity through Okinawan Drumming” will connect contemporary eisa groups in Honolulu, Los Angeles, Dallas, Peru, and Brazil.

Yeisaa nu Chimu-Don-Don: Exploring Cultural Identity through Okinawan Drumming
Saturday, March 9, 2024, 3:00 pm, PST
(Optional interactive eisa tutorials: 4:30 p.m.-5 p.m.)

March 9
• 1 p.m. (Honolulu)
• 3 p.m. (Los Angeles / Seattle / Vancouver)
• 5 p.m. (Dallas / Mexico City / Chicago)
• 6 p.m. (Lima / New York / Toronto)
• 8 p.m. (São Paulo / Buenos Aires)
• 11 p.m. (London)
March 10
• 12 a.m. (Amsterdam)
• 7 a.m. (Manila)
• 8 a.m. (Tokyo)
• 10 a.m. (Sydney)

*Deadline to register: Friday, March 8 • 10 a.m. (PST) | 1 p.m. (Lima) | 3 p.m. (São Paulo)

Eisa is a traditional Okinawan folk dance and musical performance to honor the spirit of Okinawan ancestors. As Okinawans migrated and settled all over the world, their music and dance traditions traveled with them.

Join us for a conversation and Q&A with members of contemporary eisa groups—Lisa Tamashiro Maumalanga (Chinagu Eisa Hawaii), Rentaro Suzuki (Ryukyukoku Matsuri Daiko Los Angeles Branch), John Azama (Ryukyu Damashii), Cecilia Nué (Seiryu Eisa Kai), and Toshiyuki Yamauchi (Yuriki no Kizuna Eisá Daiko)—as they discuss how eisa connects them to their cultural heritage and identity. An interactive beginners tutorial and opportunity to talk with members from various eisa groups will follow the program.

Interactive Tutorials

Yubibue—Eisa Whistling with John Azama of Ryukyu Damashii
Join John Azama for an easy lesson in Yubibue (指笛), the Okinawan finger whistle used in Okinawan music.

Heishi with Stephanie Ajifu of Ryukyukoku Matsuri Daiko Los Angeles Branch
Join Stephanie Ajifu for a lesson in heishi, Okinawan chants that eisa performers say as they simultaneously dance and hit their drums.

Eisa Dance Steps with Cecilia Nué of Seiryu Eisa Kai
Learn about basic steps of eisa through a brief online class with Seiryu Eisa Kai.

Kachashii and Uchinaaguchi Lessons with Lisa Tamashiro Maumalanga of Chinagu Eisa Hawaii 
Discover kachashii, a fun dance performed during the closing of Okinawan festivities, and learn how to speak Uchinaaguchi, the language of the Ryukyu kingdom.

Taiko 101 with Toshiyuki Yamauchi of Yuriki no Kizuna Eisá Daiko
Experience the power of taiko with Toshiyuki Yamauchi.

The main program will be presented via Zoom with simultaneous translation in English, Spanish, and Portuguese. Registration is required using the form below. Limited space is available.

Register Now: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/eisa-en